Dating Horrors, ep. 1

{Share your dating stories with Samantha, and the world. E-mail your favorite disaster dates to notyourmothersplayground@gmail.com and she’ll share the best on NYMP!}

A friend of mine has a few excellent dating stories. She tells them with such hilarious conviction that, with her permission, I wanted to share them with you. It’s possible I might get some of the details wrong, but they’re more for entertainment value then anything else, so I’m not too worried.

A while ago she was talking to this guy on PlentyofFish (a dating website, that I can’t stand – much prefer and recommend okCupid). He flaked out on her a few times, but still she gave him a chance and decided to meet with him. As he worked in finance, there were some expectations about how the night might go, but she gave him a chance and headed off on the date. (I don’t say that to be prejudice, just to note that they were coming from different backgrounds, so either way the night would go … interestingly.)

When they get to the restaurant, he tells her he has to run and do an errand for “his buddy”, but will be back in 10 / 15 minutes.

He leaves his wallet with her as collateral, and then leaves her alone at the bar to watch it while he’s gone! Alone. He leaves her alone, on their first date, after flaking out on her numerous times, so that he can run an errand for his “buddy”.

When he returns, the date continues, but the guy is so up his own ass, talking about how much money he makes or is going to be making, that there’s no hope in hell for a second date.

She tells him this in an email, saying there’s no room for her and his ego in his life. Needless to say, he was a jerk in his reply and that was the end of him.

I love this story. It reminded me about the single life and the things I miss / don’t miss about it. Soon I’m going to share with you my thoughts on being single-single, vs. relationship-single. There are pros and cons to both!

Leave a comment